Social Media by Leah


Response 10: Wiki Wiki What?
December 1, 2009, 10:05 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

For your blog entry this week, write a little bit about the experience of editing Wikipedia. What did you learn? Was it easier or harder than you thought it would be? How does seeing the guts of Wikipedia change your perspective on the project?

I had a hard time deciding what to edit on Wikipedia. I do not particularly consider myself to be an expert on any subject, so I knew that the toughest part about editing the site would be determining what to edit.

I then thought to check out my college’s Wiki. Gettysburg College recently built a new recreation center, and I noticed that the Wiki made no mention of it, so I decided to write about it. The building is the newest and probably now the most expansive on campus, so I thought it was definitely worth mentioning.

I began by reading the tutorial. It was simple enough, in my opinion. But I was unsure of whether I was required to say what I wanted to include in the talk page and then wait until I received a confirmation, or if I could say what I wanted to write about and then go ahead and put it on the page with the hopes that it would not be taken down. The semi-unfortunate issue is that my college’s Wiki talk page is not active. However, I got the go ahead from Garrett to add my part about the new Center and moved on.

I then looked up the information that I needed. It was easy to figure out what I needed to include, but the hardest part was following Wikipedia’s tags. It was almost like trying to follow HTML. I wish they made it easier to edit things, because when I was creating my footnotes I had to go back and correct them at least three times before they showed up on the page and the reference list. (Interestingly enough, this did not become a problem until I wanted to use the same reference in multiple places).

Overall, I found that creating the Wikipedia page was not as difficult as I thought it would be. My edits are still up (maybe because the community is not active, but maybe not!) and hopefully I will be able to attract some potential students to Gettysburg through my thorough description of the new athletic center. The project made me see that while it may be difficult for some people to edit Wiki pages, it was not hard for me. I also learned that it is not that simple to create a page, but it can be reverted very easily, as was discussed in class.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

