Social Media by Leah


Tucker and Why I May Become a Cat Lady
November 17, 2009, 9:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My family always had cats growing up.

First there was Hershey, a Seal Point Siamese kitty, who was so friendly and loved to eat ice cream. We got her when I was in second grade. She was my first real pet, you know, besides the hamsters, one goldfish, and random other small critters that lived in our house.

Hershey also liked to go outside. She loved the outdoors. She was hit by a car when I was in 5th grade. I was devastated. I cried for days and went out in the neighborhood searching for her, because a family friend had called and said she thought she saw Hershey on the side of the road near our house.

I never found her.

Our house was lonely for awhile–no meowing or cleaning litter boxes. That’s when Reese came along.

We got Reese, a Chocolate Point Siamese, from a breeder. We knew right away he was not Hershey. First of all, he was supposed to be pure bred, but he had especially long fur and a few suspect markings. He was also a terrible kitten. He scratched our leather couches, forcing my parents to put large comforters on them. Reese’s claws came out as soon as he was old enough.

Reese was supposed to be my cat again, but my mom was the one who really took care of him. Reese and my mom were inseperable. I went off to college, and being an only child, Reese was the lone kid in the house. He had been growing older, he was 11 and still living a good life outdoors. My parents vowed to not let another cat outside after Hershey died, but he escaped once and just loved the backyard. During the summer of 2008, he was attacked by an animal and had to be taken to the ER. My parents were a wreck..even my dad who claims to not like cats. Reese survived and recovered.

This past summer, I had a tough time dealing with some personal problems, and eventually started to get past them. I decided that I wanted a kitten of my own.

I found one on Craigslist. He was a very small, 8 week old kitten. Gray.Tom and I went to go look at him and immediately I fell in love. I took her home that night and to the vet the next day to get checked out.

12 ounces and healthy as can be.

My favorite part of the day was coming home in the afternoon and playing with her. Seeing her come out from under my comforter where she had been sleeping and let out little meows. We were inseperable. Tom thought I was a nut because of how attached to Tucker I was…but there was no denying..she was adorable.

The above photo is her a few days before I got her.

Tucker and I have had a rough start. She had an umbilical hernia, whic sent us to the ER in the middle of the night and cost me a whopping $1,000. Money that I don’t really have, but I took it out of my savings, because what should I have done? Let her die?

We also found out Tucker is a girl, not a boy, but we kept the name because everyone likes it.The way that I go back and forth between “he” and “she” in this post shows how confusing it got at first!

She is now six months old and is still my favorite. I still love coming home to her after work and cuddling with her in bed. She is crazy and still small, probably the runt of the litter, and loves to play. And she REALLY loves to eat.

I found out a month ago that Reese died in May. He went out one night and never came back, and my parents have only assumed the worst. My mother did not want to tell me because of what I was going through at the time, but she assured me that I now have my own kitten to take care of.

She says that when her and my dad retire they will get a Siamese kitten, but until then, the house will  be lonely.

While I may be turning into a cat lady, I never realized how much happiness having your own pet can bring. I know I’m not the only one. Lolcats definitely has some crazy cat owners (who have a sense of humor!!). Meowmail (Although Tucker does not have email, but if she did, she’d get mail because she is popular), Catbook (Reese had one), Catster, and numerous, numerous others.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

