Social Media by Leah


Response #7: The Surprise
November 3, 2009, 9:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The biggest surprise, and/or possibly the best thing I’ve learned so far, is about Google.

As I said in my previous post…I love Google.

I did a human resources project about Google in college, I Google things every single day, I look for images via Google, I use Gmail (best email client ever created, imo), I use Google Groups for my Strategy class, and the list goes on and on and on. (Btw–I can’t wait to get a Google Wave invite).

Hell, I even applied for a job at Google recently.

I thought I knew a lot about Google…and then I read The Search for class.

I learned all about the history, including the good points and the bad points.  I became aware of their strategies and their business models and it was interesting to see how such a large, successful company was able to grow from the young minds of Sergey Brin and Larry Page.

Then I read this post by Garrett (PS: This guy is 28, only six years older than me, and editor-in-chief of Washingtonian Magazine. Hope I get to be that successful in the next six years, but I digress and may have something on my nose).

Anyway–Garrett linked to this article about Google owning the Internet. In the article, it discusses Google someday owning everything we use. Telephone? Check. Cable television? Check. Stereo system? Check. Our lives? Check.

I began to wonder…is there anything wrong with that? Granted, for competitors it is probably an issue, since Google just about destroys everything in its path…but…

Google makes my life so much easier and simply….convenient.

It was after all of this that I realized that I have no idea what the Internet…or even the world will look like  in five, ten, 15 years. There are going to be things that I have not even dreamed of out there.

We are going to have to constantly be on our feet and adapting to new inventions and ideas. Luckily, I am young, so this is not difficult for me…but I think the way we do business in the future will be completely revamped because of the Internet, social media and ….those other things.

Is this where we are heading? Or this?

The biggest surprise is we may actually have no idea what is to come.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

